TERM LIMITS FOR STATE LEGISLATORS

(17 states as of 2002)

LIMIT IN YEARS	N	No Term Limits (33 states)	TERM LIMITS (17 STATES)	
			Consecutive Limits (11 states)	LIFETIME LIMITS (6 STATES)
No limits	33	AL, AK, CT, DE, GA, HI, ID ^{**} , IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, MY, MA ^{**} , MI, MS, NH, NJ, NM, NY, NC, ND, OR ^{**} , PA, RI, SC, TN, TX, VT, VA, WA ^{**} , WV, WI		
6 house / 8 senate	3			AR [*] , CA [*] , MI [*]
8 total	1		NE ^{\$#+}	
8 house / 8 senate	8		AZ [*] , CO [*] , FL [*] , ME [*] , MT [*] , OH [*] , SD [*]	MO [*]
12 total	1			OK*
12 house / 12 senate	4		LA [°] , UT [°] , WY [°]	NV®

* repealed by state legislature# repealed by state supreme court

proposed by state legislature
proposed by voter initiative
reinstated by voter initiative

TERM LIMITS FOR STATE GOVERNORS¹

(39 states as of 1999)

Туре	N	STATES	
No term limits	11	CT, IL, IA, MA, MN, NH, NY, ND, TX, VT, WI	
No consecutive terms	1	VA	
2 consecutive terms	32	AL, AK, AZ, AR, CA, CO, FL, GA, HI, ID, IN, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MI, MS, NV, NJ, NM, <mark>NC</mark> , OH, OK, OR, PA, RI, SC, SD, TN, WV, WY	
2 terms every 12 years	2	NE, WA	
2 terms every 16 years	1	МТ	
2 terms	2	DE, MO	
3 consecutive terms	1	UT	

¹Forty-eight states have 4-year terms for governors; NH & VT have 2-year terms.